Bloggers Quilt Festival – Hawaiian Quilts

Today I’m sharing one of the Hawaiian quilts that I made, many years ago, and I’m sharing this as part of the Blogger’s Quilt Festival.  Amy is coordinating this delightful show where anyone can sit back, relax, and admire many beautiful quilts that are shared by bloggers from all over the world. 

This Hawaiian quilt that I’m sharing in this virtual quilt festival was made many years ago.  But as I’ve been sharing insights this month, regarding Hawaiian quilting, I thought this would be a good quilt to share.  Unfortunately, I do not have a professional photograph of this quilt and the photos I can take do not do it justice.

It is a king size quilt, where the background is a periwinkle blue.  The tropical fabric has bright colors, but my skills in Adobe PS simply do not do this quilt justice.  But I hope you can still get some perspective on this quilt from the photos I’m able to share. 

Over the years, I have donated many of my Hawaiian quilts to various fundraisers.  As, I have changed the color scheme in my house (no longer tropical colors), I can no longer use this quilt on my bed, and am no looking at various ways to donate (or maybe sell) this particular quilt.  If you have any recommendations for what I should do with this quilt, please let me know.

61 thoughts on “Bloggers Quilt Festival – Hawaiian Quilts”

  1. it’s totally amazing! Did you quilt it yourself? I’m sure you’ll find a wonderful home for it whether you donate or sell it! I think it’d look fab in a totally white room! Maybe you should just paint everything in your room white instead of donating or selling it 🙂

    Like

  2. what a striking quilt-if you want to donate it, it would be best to auction it off to raise money to help several people rather than give it to just one.Come see my antique quilt entrieshttp://utahquiltappraiser.blogpost.comhttp://starleyquilts.blogspot.com

    Like

  3. This quilt is fantastic. I really like Hawaiian designs. Must have been a lot of work to do, but worth all of it.Thanks for visiting my blog and for the nice comment.

    Like

  4. marvelous quilt—stunning colors. what about using it in a raffle/auction to benefit some children’s or homeless organization? the idea to find a family member who would love is a great one, too. whatever you decide to do, it is a fantastic gift someone will receive from your very generous heart

    Like

  5. I love Hawaiian quilts! My hubby is from Hawaii. ONe of my many “to-do” projects is a Hawaiian quilt of different appliqued Hawaiian patterns… As a novice quilter, I have only completed the 7 little miniature Hawaiian quilts that was for a swap and one wall hanging! My goal is to get some unfinished ones done before our future grandbabies start to come!..I am off today from work, so will hopefully get to some others on the quilt fest. I have some drawing orders to work on and of course, cleaning house… Now that our children are grown and my hubby and I are empty nesters, I can’t be a “stay at home mom”, but I would love to be a stay at home wife :o)Blessings & Aloha!If you have a moment to come over, please let me know by leaving a comment at my post. It was fun meeting you!

    Like

Comments are closed.